Joint Coordinating Committee on Indigenous Rights

Joint Coordinating Committee on Indigenous Rights

Launched March 2024 / Meets at least quarterly


The purpose of the Joint Coordinating Committee on Indigenous Rights is to develop recommendations for implementing the City of St. John’s commitments as outlined in Council’s 2020 Declaration in Support of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and as reaffirmed in Call for Change 29. Further related commitments include continuing to work alongside the City’s partners in First Voice to advance the urban Indigenous coalition’s 2023 Community Action Plan, and in particular by implementing the Calls for Change that fall partly or exclusively within the City’s jurisdiction. These include Calls for Change 6, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 30, 31, 34, and 40.


  • Justin Campbell, Director of Advocacy
  • Kevin Breen, City Manager


  • First Light St. John’s Friendship Centre
  • City of St. John’s


The Committee is constituted by and is directly and jointly accountable, via its Co-Chairs, to St. John’s City Council and to the First Voice Partnership Table.

Activities & Scope of Work

At the direction of the Co-Chairs and in pursuit of its Purpose, the Committee shall be responsible for the following functions:

  • Reviewing relevant City processes, procedures, policies, and bylaws;
  • Developing initiatives to make the City of St. John’s more fully inclusive of urban Indigenous Peoples;
  • Coordinating, conducting, and supporting evidence-based research;
  • Identifying funding opportunities and securing resources;
  • Leading positive systemic change; and
  • Making recommendations to St. John’s City Council as required.


Additional members of staff for the City of St. John’s include:

  • Ann-Marie Cashin, Planner III;
  • Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor;
  • Jessica Foley, Manager, Parks & Open Spaces; and
  • Krista Gladney, Manager, Healthy City & Inclusion

Additional members of staff for First Light include:

  • Chad Bedard, Research Coordinator;
  • Jordan Lawrence, Action Circle Coordinator;
  • Megan Pottle, Coordinator of Housing & Inclusion; and
  • Melissa Samms, Arts Administrator.

The Co-Chairs may further appoint up to two First Voice Community Advocates to join the Committee on a voluntary basis. These members currently include: